Are we “used” by God?

God does not use us

I often hear Christians say that “God used them” or “pray that God will use you”.  I don’t think that God uses anybody. Things are used. I use my car, my computer, and my lawn mower. People are to be loved and not used.

Since God is our father then consider this. When is the last time that you heard a parent say that they used their child? Never. That’s because it’s an inappropriate word when interacting with your child. When is the last time you heard a child say to their parent that they hope their parent uses them? Never. Because that is an inappropriate relationship. If a child said that it would be creepy. Why do we not think that use is an unacceptable word in our relationship with God?

God does ask, cajole, beg, encourage, and exhort us to a more worthy endeavor. We can choose to obey or disobey due to our freedom of will. Anything that I use does not have a choice to be used. As believers we are called to serve. Serving is not being used. We serve out of love and not out of obligation. Something to consider next time you hear  “God wants to use you” or “I was used by God”.

Leave a Reply

